If Luka Garza wouldn't have been named Big 10 Player of the Year, the entire state of Iowa would've revolted. In fact, he was selected for the award by both Big Ten coaches and the media. He's the first Iowa men's basketball player to ever win the award.

The Big Ten Player of the Year was first awarded in 1985, and Garza is the first Hawkeye to win it. Prior to this award, Iowa had three other players who were named Big Ten/Chicago Tribune MVP, according to a media release from the Iowa Sports Information Department. They were Murray Wier (1948), Chuck Darling (1952), and Sam Wiliams (1968).

In Big Ten play, Garza averaged 26.2 points per game. He shot better than 33% from 3-point range. He played more than 34 minutes per game. He dominated. Garza was the only player that was a unanimous choice to the All-Big Ten First Team by both media and conference coaches.

We've had a great winter in Iowa, watching some special players. Iowa now has both the women's, Kathleen Doyle (below), and men's Big Ten Conference players of the year. That's special.

Stephen Mally, Hawkeyesports.com
Brian Ray, Hawkeyesports.com

I love Garza's intensity. I love how he's improved during his Iowa career. Oh. And I pray he stays for his senior year.

Matthew Holst, Getty Images